Where Wild Peaches Grow by Cade Bentley | Book Review

Where Wild Peaches Grow is a smart and immersive novel about sisterhood, family ties and cultural heritage and the characters are well drawn and engaging. Told through a split narrative, author Cade Bentley places the reader right into a scene centered on older sister, Julia, handling the recent passing of their father and introducing the reason for his death – a heart attack brought on by his tenant picking peaches from the rented home. It immediately calls into question what about these fruit could be so special to generate such tense feelings.

Younger sister, Nona, also called Peaches, left their Natchez, Mississippi home several years ago under less-than-ideal circumstances, but has reinvented herself as an African American history professor in Chicago. Recently, she has been contemplating the intersection of her scholarly work and her own personal legacy so when the call comes from her sister, she is torn between needing to return home to pay her respects to her deceased father, and the temptation to continue along the path she has been forging without them.

As the plot unfolds, other strong and entertaining characters are introduced including Mamaw, the girls’ eighty-something-year-old grandmother, and Richard, Eli and Marcus, love interests who help stir the sauce that keeps these sisters at odds with each other.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I think the plot was very relatable and well constructed with just the right amount of family tension and small-town interaction overlaid with more scholarly exploration of Black culture and revisionist history. The cover art is also very appealing, although I wish the model was looking out at the page instead of gazing at the forbidden fruit. I’d recommend this as a good read for fans of books like Tayari Jones’ An American Marriage and Jesmyn Ward’s

Book Details

Title: Where Wild Peaches Grow

Author: Cade Bentley

Format: Trade Paperback

Pages: 300

Publisher: Lake Union Publishers

Publication Date: August 30, 2022

Note: I received an Advance Reader Copy of Where Wild Peaches Grow in order to participate in a publicity tour organized by TLC Book Tours. I was not otherwise compensated and the above reflects my honest opinion about the book.

What do you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts as well.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s