Voices From Chernobyl by Svetlana Alexievich | Book Review

I have an ongoing project to read books by all the Nobel Prize winning authors. Svetlana Alexievich won the prize in 2015 and I chose Voices From Chernobyl as my introduction to her although I am not sure if it gives me a real grasp of her writing because the subject matter is so haunting,…

The Girl They Left Behind by Roxanne Veletzos | Book Review

From the publisher A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key. On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps…