Voices From Chernobyl by Svetlana Alexievich | Book Review

I have an ongoing project to read books by all the Nobel Prize winning authors. Svetlana Alexievich won the prize in 2015 and I chose Voices From Chernobyl as my introduction to her although I am not sure if it gives me a real grasp of her writing because the subject matter is so haunting,…

The Girl They Left Behind by Roxanne Veletzos | Book Review

From the publisher A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation—perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah’s Key. On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps…

Love in Catalina Cove

Synopsis from the publisher In her brand-new series, Brenda Jackson welcomes you to Catalina Cove, where even the biggest heartbreaks can be healed… In the wake of a devastating teen pregnancy that left her childless and heartbroken, Vashti Alcindor left Catalina Cove, Louisiana, with no plans to return. Now, over a decade later, Vashti reluctantly…

The Mars Room by Rachel Kushner | Book Review

The Mars Room is one of the six novels shortlisted for the 2018 Man Booker Prize. The book is Romy’s story. When we meet her, Romy Hall is an inmate in the California prison system, convicted for murder and  serving the first of two consecutive life sentences. The novel is written in stream of consciousness…

Good Time Cowboy

If you’re a fan of second-chance romances and books with western/rodeo themes, you might want to try Good Time Cowboy on for size. Synopsis: In Gold Valley, Oregon, forbidden desire just might turn into the love of a lifetime… When Lindy Parker lost her cheating husband, she gained a vineyard. She’ll do anything for Grassroots…

Rancher’s Dream by B J Daniels

I grew up seeing my mother’s enjoyment of Harlequin romance novels but even though I got my love of reading fiction from her, I never got immersed in that genre… not until I found the Montana Cahills series from author, B. J. Daniel. The most recent installment in the series is  Rancher’s Dream but any…

How To Love A Jamaican

A few months ago, Netgalley gave me the opportunity to read an Advance Reader Copy (ARC) for a new book. I was entranced by the title:  How To Love A Jamaican, and the fact that while it was a short story collection, it had a very catchy title and a gorgeous cover. But I was…

Trial on Mount Koya

Trial on Mount Koya is the latest in Susan Spann’s Shinobi Mystery series. In this installment, a Jesuit priest called Father Mateo and his Samurai guide and translator named Hiro, seek shelter in a mountaintop Buddhist temple during a snow storm. On their arrival, the resident priests are hesitant but eventually admit them, explaining that…

The Moment Before

An innocent young man goes to a city notorious for being a place where criminal plots are hatched. While there, he innocently does what those-who-are-criminals have done. Does that make him a criminal too? Does that justify infinite detention, a sentence that means he’ll be kept captive until whatever crime he might have been involved…

House on Harbor Hill

Set in the past and present, The House on Harbor Hill is a murder mystery that tackles the issues of racial prejudice and spousal abuse in the lives of two very different women… What the book is about The House on Harbor Hill is the setting for the intersection of two women’s lives – Delilah, who is…

The Birth Of China

It’s the beginning of 1949. Harry Truman is President and two pressing international issues are in his docket. While the United States has long had a monopoly on nuclear research and has taken steps to have the UN regulate any further nuclear development, the Soviet Union has rejected that proposal and continues to work on…

Just One Million

Out of more than 28 million small businesses in the United States, 23 million of them are non-employers, meaning that no one has a job there except the owners. This kind of business owner chooses the freedom of the hustle instead of going to clock in for a 9-to-5 job, might wake up every morning…