Say It Louder by Tiffany D. Cross | Book Review

For Colored Girls Who Consider Journalism When Twitter Is Not Enough is the title of the first chapter in Tiffany D. Cross’ book entitled Say It Louder: Black Voters, White Narratives and Saving Our Democracy. Tiffany D. Cross is an on-air political analyst with decades of experience in cable news, working for media giants like CNN and…

All Things Reconsidered by Knox McCoy | Book Review

Popular podcaster and author Knox McCoy offers readers a unique blend of humor, Bible stories, pop culture references, and personal stories that show how asking tough questions and approaching life with a willingness to reconsider ideas can allow them to grow in their faith. What would it mean to really examine what you think you know…

Dream Big by Bob Goff | Book Review

What The Publishers Say About Dream Big From New York Times bestselling author Bob Goff, the creator of the popular Dream Big conferences, a wildly inspiring yet utterly practical blueprint for helping readers find and reach their biggest dreams. Bob Goff is on a mission to shake people into the version of their lives they dreamt about…

JD in the Kitchen: Indian Sweet Snacks by Jasmine Daya | Book Review

What The Publishers Say About JD In The Kitchen Jasmine Daya is a seasoned home cook who loves creating sweet treats while collaborating in the kitchen with her mother, Shan. In her third cookbook, Daya shares recipes for delicious Indian sweet snacks with East African influences that include almond halva (a special occasion dish), coconut…

The Woman In The Green Dress | Book Review

A cursed opal, a gnarled family tree, and a sinister woman in a green dress emerge in the aftermath of World War I. After a whirlwind romance, London teashop waitress Fleur Richards can’t wait for her new husband, Hugh, to return from the Great War. But when word of his death arrives on Armistice Day,…

My Name Is Tani And I Believe In Miracles (Memoir) | Book Review

What The Publishers Say About My Name Is Tani Tani Adewumi didn’t know what Boko Haram was or why they had threatened his family. All he knew was that when his parents told the family was going to America, Tani thought it was the start of a great adventure rather than an escape. In truth,…

Stay by Catherine Ryan Hyde | Book Review and Giveaway

An unforgettable novel about the power of friendship and kindness by the New York Times bestselling author of Pay It Forward. Synopsis from the Publisher In the summer of 1969, fourteen-year-old Lucas Painter carries a huge weight on his shoulders. His brother is fighting in Vietnam. His embattled parents are locked in a never-ending war. And his best…

State of Lies by Siri Mitchell | Book Review 127 / 2019

Synopsis From The Publisher One woman is forced to question everything she knows in this domestic suspense novel from award-winning author Siri Mitchell. Georgie Brennan may be a world-class quantum physicist, but she grapples with life as a single mother after her husband is killed. When she receives a message from beyond the grave, it…

Trial on Mount Koya

Trial on Mount Koya is the latest in Susan Spann’s Shinobi Mystery series. In this installment, a Jesuit priest called Father Mateo and his Samurai guide and translator named Hiro, seek shelter in a mountaintop Buddhist temple during a snow storm. On their arrival, the resident priests are hesitant but eventually admit them, explaining that…

House on Harbor Hill

Set in the past and present, The House on Harbor Hill is a murder mystery that tackles the issues of racial prejudice and spousal abuse in the lives of two very different women… What the book is about The House on Harbor Hill is the setting for the intersection of two women’s lives – Delilah, who is…

Presidents’ Day

Who really puts the winning candidate in the White House – and at what cost? Seth Margolis’  novel, Presidents’ Day, will set the conspiracy theorists on fire… again. Read my complete review here  About Presidents’ Day Paperback: 360 pages Publisher: Diversion Publishing (February 7, 2017) For readers of David Baldacci and Brad Meltzer comes a timely political thriller from…

Dirty Wars and Polished Silver| Giveaway

As a young Jewish girl growing up in in the Midwest, Lynda Schuster collected stamps and dreamed of the exotic faraway places that produced such glowing artifacts. She resented her unambitious mother as well as the overambitious father who grew dissatisfied with his family life and left them when Lynda was just a  young teen….